My Keratosis Pilaris (Aka Bumpy Skin on Arms) And How I Treat It.

hair_female_sexy_hipster_girl_femme_woman_arms-869417.jpg!d

502px-Keratosis_pilaris_arm

Keratosis Pilaris is defined by the Mayo Clinic as “a common, harmless skin condition that causes dry, rough patches and tiny bumps, usually on the upper arms, thighs, cheeks or buttocks. The bumps generally don’t hurt or itch”. So basically it is caused by an overproduction of Keratin (the protein that skin hair and nails is made of) in your skin, causing skin cells to get stuck in the pores, causing small bumps. I have had these chicken skin like bumps on my upper arms since puberty and I have tried A LOT of things during the years although somethings have worked and somethings not (spoiler standing in front of the mirror picking at it does NOT) I have only recently really figured out what gives me constant and lasting effects. In this blog I will be discussing 3 tools/products that have really helped me keep my sandpapery upper arms from damaging wooden furniture šŸ˜› It is worth mentioning that these are things that work for me, they may not necessarily work for you but they may be worth a try.

1. What: The lowly washcloth.

IMG_2608

Why: Physical exfoliation.

A wash cloth is something everyone has and is a surprisingly effective exfoliation tool, simply rub it on the bumpy areas once or twice a day using soap or just water. Even though I have found this method effective I find it works best when combined with an acid toner.

Get itĀ here.

2. What: Pixi Glow Tonic.

IMG_2610

Why: AHA/ chemical exfoliation.

Pixi Glow Tonic is an exfoliating toner that contains Glycolic acid, an AHA that helps to dissolve the keratin bonds (the glue if you will) between skin cells and in so doing helps to remove and prevent a build up of Ā dead skin cells. This product works really well when I use a cotton pad to apply it to the rough patches after a shower, I feel like it really penetrates into the clusters of dry skin cells and helps to dislodge them resulting in a way more even skin texture. Glycolic acid can make skin sun sensitive so be sure to wear your SPF!

Get itĀ here.

3. What: Aveeno Daily Moisturising Body Yogurt.

IMG_2615

Why: Dimethicone.

Aveeno Daily Moisturising Body Yogurt is a very moisturising body butter that contains a ingredient called Dimethicone, this product is the active ingredient in most makeup primers so you know it is like “Poly-Filler” for the skin, aiding in moisturising and reducing the appearance of textured skin. And it smells really yummy. I like to apply it to my upper arms (and the rest of my body) after I apply the Pixi Glow Tonic.

Get itĀ here.

It is important to remember that, as with all skin care, consistency is key and you will only really see results after a couple of weeks of daily use of these products. Thank you so much for reading this post and let me know in the comment section down below what your favourite products are for battelingĀ Keratosis Pilaris.

Have a beautiful day.

xx

Contact me:

justmadeupmakeup@gmail.com

References:

https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/keratosis-pilaris/symptoms-causes/syc-20351149

Leave a comment